Uber Accidents – 18 Things You Need To Know!
Ridesharing companies such as Uber and Lyft offer users a more affordable, comfortable way to travel in a city.
One of the advantages of these services is that it has the potential to reduce the number of drunk drivers on the roads.
Cars are convenient, but you’re at risk of accidents whenever you get behind the wheel.
In Miami, particularly with the high volume of Uber cars on the roads, drivers’ chances of being in an accident go up.
If you’re involved in an accident with an Uber, Lyft, or other ridesharing service vehicle, you may be eligible for compensation, whether you’re a passenger, pedestrian, or the other driver.
But how do you know what to do after a Miami Uber accident?
In order to help you receive compensation quickly and effectively, we have compiled a legal guide that outlines the steps you should take after being involved in an accident with Uber.
Here’s what you should know.
Uber Laws in Florida
The rideshare industry has changed the way Florida residents and visitors travel throughout the state.
The repetitive and constant pattern of car accidents due to distracted driving has piqued the interest of state legislators. In response, they have signed bills into law with the intention of keeping not only drivers safe, but also pedestrians and other passengers on roadways.
House Bill 221 creates several guidelines that rideshare companies, such as Uber and Lyft, must follow in the state of Florida. These requirements are necessary to maintain safety and order throughout the state.
If a driver is logged onto the rideshare company’s digital network but not currently working, they are still covered by an insurance policy of $50,000 per person for death or bodily injury, $100,000 for death or bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
However, when driving with a passenger, an Uber driver must have a primary automobile coverage of at least $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property damage.
In addition, if a vehicle accident occurs, the Uber driver must provide proof of insurance to the officer at the scene. As with a personal vehicle accident, this is required by law.
The bill also addresses who can and cannot become a driver with a rideshare company.
According to the law, all drivers must go through a background check. However, certain problems can arise and prevent an individual from becoming a driver.
These issues include:
- Having been convicted of a felony within the last five years
- Within the previous five years, you may have a misdemeanor charge for DUI, reckless driving, hit-and-run, or fleeing from an officer.
- Being on a sex offender registry
- Having three or more moving violations within the last three years
- Having a crime involving violence, sexual battery, or indecent exposure in the previous five years
- Driving with a suspended license within the last three years
- Not having a valid driver’s license
- Not having proof of vehicle registration
Furthermore, if a rideshare driver is caught using illegal drugs or alcohol, or engaging in any other form of discrimination, there is a zero-tolerance policy.
Before a passenger accepts a ride, each ridesharing service is also obligated to provide fares, and the driver’s license plate number and photo must be available for the customer.
Who Can Be Harmed in an Uber Accident?
Uber collisions can harm a variety of people, including pedestrians, passengers, and other drivers.
When you’re minding your own business walking down the road (while obeying traffic signs and laws), you’re not expecting to be hit out of the blue by a car but you can’t control what drivers do.
Conversely, drivers can’t control what pedestrians are doing and keep them from jaywalking or otherwise putting themselves in danger.
Pedestrian accidents happen more often at night and in cities, rather than in rural areas.
There are laws that pedestrians must follow when crossing a roadway, such as obeying traffic signals and keeping to the right side of the crosswalk.
Unfortunately, even when pedestrians follow all the rules, there may be times when a driver causes an accident.
This could be the result of a number of different behaviors, such as failing to stop at a stop sign, yielding but not fully stopping at a crosswalk, or driving under the influence.
In these cases, the fault typically lies with the driver.
Most people expect to feel safe while using a rideshare service, but what happens if you are the passenger in an Uber when the driver gets into an accident?
With rare exceptions, the passenger in an Uber is not likely to be at fault in most scenarios.
An Uber driver can get into many different types of auto accidents, whether it is their fault or not.
Poor driving behavior, like running a red light or drowsy driving, can easily lead to an accident.
However, other drivers can also cause accidents, such as rear-ending or sideswiping your Uber.
In any of these instances, the passenger of an Uber is protected under their own insurance, if they carry any and the Uber insurance policy of $1 million.
The Other Driver
What happens if you are the other driver in an accident with an Uber?
The answer depends on who or what caused the collision, as well as the type and extent of any damages.
Generally, the laws regarding regular automobile accidents in Florida will apply to Uber accidents. This means that Florida’s no-fault rule applies, as well as comparative negligence.
It is vital to have the right legal representation if you are involved in an accident with an Uber driver.
What Happens If You’re in an Uber Accident?
Whether you’re the driver, a pedestrian, a passenger, or the other driver, there are certain steps you should take after an Uber accident.
In order to bolster your chances of receiving compensation for damages, follow these tips.
1. Call 911 and Seek Medical Attention Immediately
The first thing you should do following an accident with an Uber driver is to call 911 and seek medical attention.
Even if you do not appear injured after your Uber accident, some types of injuries that aren’t immediately noticeable can show up days or weeks later.
A health specialist will be able to examine you and determine whether or not you have severe injuries, so be sure to inform your doctor about any locations where you’ve felt pain after the accident.
Calling the cops is a crucial stage in establishing your case; they’ll take down all of the pertinent information in an official report that can be used later.
If this isn’t done, you may find yourself having a hard time proving the accident happened the way you said it did, or, in some cases, at all.
2. Gather Evidence
In addition to ensuring the police collect evidence and create a record of your accident, it never hurts to document the scene on your own, as well.
Take photos of the crash site, including damages to both cars and the placement of the vehicles after the impact.
If you have injuries that are visible, take photos of those, too.
It is also important to get the contact and insurance information from the other driver and make a note of the make and model of their car.
3. Report Your Claim to Your Insurance Provider
Florida is a “no-fault” insurance state, which means that your auto insurance provider will pay for any medical bills that arise from a car accident even when the accident isn’t your fault, you weren’t the driver, or you were a passenger in the Uber driver’s car.
To get the medical claim process started, notify your auto insurance about the collision as soon as possible.
However, don’t immediately give a detailed statement to your insurance provider, and be careful about giving information to the other insurance companies involved in the claim the Uber driver’s insurance or the other driver’s insurance provider.
You are not obligated to give them information.
Consider contacting an attorney to assist you with the insurance company.
4. Contact a Personal Injury Lawyer
Regardless of the nature of your Uber accident, it is in your best interest to contact a Miami Uber accident attorney who will be able to assist you in securing the maximum amount of compensation for your damages, in as little time as possible.
Finding a law firm that has experience handling Uber accident claims is critical.
A firm specializing in ridesharing cases will be able to help you seek damages for medical expenses, lost wages, physical and emotional pain and suffering, property damage, and more.
Leave it to the professionals to handle the other driver’s insurance company.
Injured in a Miami Uber Accident?
The assistance of an experienced attorney can go a long way towards securing the amount of compensation you deserve.
Our personal injury lawyers will work tirelessly to help victims injured in automobile accidents involving drivers of Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare services vehicles.
If you have been injured as a driver, passenger, or pedestrian in South Florida, contact us as soon as possible.
We’ll put our decades of experience to work by advocating on your behalf leaving you free to focus on healing.
Uber Safety Tips
These Uber safety tips will help you minimize the risk of sustaining injuries in an Uber.
1. Always wear a seatbelt while you are riding in an Uber car.
Seatbelts are a requirement for the driver in all states and in most states for the passenger. Wearing a seatbelt can minimize injuries should the Uber driver get into a wreck.
2. Do not distract the driver.
Distractions take the driver’s eyes off the road, which increases the risk of getting into an accident. With some drivers, even light conversation could be a distraction.
3. When getting in and out of an Uber vehicle, watch for traffic before opening the door.
If a driver needs to double park to let you out, you could hit a parked vehicle with the door, or a passing vehicle could be close enough to rip the door off and possibly cause you and the driver to suffer injuries.
4. Request your ride inside.
Only go out at the last possible minute. If it is dark or you are in a section of town that has a higher level of crime, you could save yourself from injuries with this Uber safety tip.
5. Use Uber’s trip-sharing features.
It is important for someone you trust to know where you are at all times. This Uber safety tip can help if your driver gets into an accident or if the driver has ulterior motives.
6. Do not share personal information with your driver.
Do not mention that you are going home to an empty apartment and do not give them your direct phone number. ALWAYS contact them through the app.
7. Make sure the driver is really your driver before you get into the vehicle.
Some unscrupulous people pretend to be Uber and Lyft drivers so they can kidnap you.
8. When alone, always sit in the passenger rear seat.
If you sit in the front or directly behind the driver, it is easier for the driver to take advantage of you and it is harder for you to watch your full surroundings.
9. Make sure the driver is driving the vehicle indicated in the app.
If the driver shows up in a different vehicle, contact the ride-sharing company immediately. Do not get into the vehicle with the driver. The make, model, and color should match the description you received in the app. Also, check the vehicle’s license plate. That should also match the information you received when you set up your ride.
10. The driver should know your name and your destination.
Before you get into the vehicle, ask the driver to repeat the pickup information. If he or she cannot, the driver could be an imposter. Don’t say “hi, is this an Uber for…?”. Instead, prompt them and ask “Who are you here to pick up?”
11. Follow the rules.
Make sure you and the driver follow the rules of the road, including wearing seatbelts, using turn signals, and not speeding. By following the rules of the road, your driver minimizes the chances of getting into an accident.
12. Let your driver know that you are tracking the trip.
If your driver has any ulterior motives, letting him or her know that you are tracking the trip will discourage the driver from taking unscrupulous actions.
13. Download additional personal safety apps.
These extra apps can turn your phone into a mini security system, including recording your trip, including a panic button, and allowing you to call 911 with one touch.
14. Ride with a friend if at all possible.
If you can find someone to share your ride-sharing trip with, you can share the cost. Additionally, an unscrupulous driver is less likely to try something if there are two of you in the vehicle.
Safety.com stated that a CNN investigation found that 103 Uber drivers over four years were accused of abusing or sexually assaulting their passengers. At the time of writing, at least 31 of the accused drivers were convicted.
Additionally, an Uber driver cannot always avoid accidents caused by others. Following the rules of the road can significantly minimize injuries you might suffer if the driver crashes, whether because of his or her fault or the fault of another driver.
- Travelling? Learn About Los Angeles Uber Accident Laws
Contact an Uber Accident Lawyer
If you suffered injuries in an Uber accident, whether the accident was the driver’s fault or another person’s fault, contact an Uber accident attorney as soon as possible.